Interview : Top Five Most Anticipated Authors

A lot of people in the book community talk about debut novels rather than debut authors. What I mean is that we always hear about new authors when their books are about to come out and or already came out. So for this post I did something different, or maybe backwards. I’ve had the privilege of interviewing five up and coming authors before their books have hit the shelves and some still in the writing stages. So I hope you enjoy this post as much as I do! I will link their Instagram pages and or blogs so you can check these five lovely ladies out. J

 

Hi JaNae!  It’s so great to hear from you.  To answer your first paragraph questions, my age is 21, I live in Vernon, CT and I’ll include a photo as well.

Snapchat--887984959113632751 (2)

 

  1. How long have you been working on your book?

I’ve been working on my book for a few months now. Though if I’m being honest, I jump from project to project.  I’ve had several book ideas in the last few years and I always invest a ton of time into one and then jump onto the next one. I’m planning on focusing on this one idea specifically and branching out from there. 

 

  1. Are you going for self-publishing or traditional? Why?

I’m going to be aiming for traditional publishing, simply because mainstream publishing allows for much more publicity allowing my book to make its way to the public.  At least, much easier than it would be if I went and published it on my own.

  1. What is the genre and title of your book?

The genre of my book is New Adult Fiction.  It’s on the cusp of being adventure or romance or even contemporary but there are so many pieces to it, I hesitate to call it any of those things right off the bat.  So New Adult Fiction it is.  As for the title, even I haven’t decided on that yet!

 

  1. If you do the traditional publishing route, what publishing company would you want to publish your work?

If I had a choice in who published my work, I’d love Bloomsbury, they are the ones who picked up Harry Potter when no one else gave it a chance.  But honestly, I’d be honored to be published by any publishing house.

 

  1. Did you go to school for writing or was it a calling you had early on in life?

Haha, well, it’s a long story.  I’ve been writing since I learned how in first grade.  Even before then, I was always making up stories.  But once I learned how to write, my imagination hasn’t stopped going.  High school came and I took Creative Writing classes for three years – I really loved it!  Once I moved on to college, I took a lot of English and Writing courses, but my major was Communications.  After graduating last year, and taking a year off, I decided that I needed to be in a creative environment full of readers and writers and imagination.  I’m back at school now for Secondary English Education to become a High School English teacher and I’m so excited about it.  I’m hoping to also have at least one class of Creative Writing to help promote writing for pleasure as well as for school/work/those boring times where we have to write about things we don’t love.

  1. What inspired you to write the book you’re writing now?

The book I’m writing now was inspired by a lot of things.  Mostly, my grandparents simply telling me how they fell in love.  A few other things have inspired me, including The Titanic (the historically fictional movie), Letters to Juliet (the movie) and a few other love stories I’ve read.

 

  1. What author inspired your writing style?

My writing style has been influenced greatly by my father.  A lot of my writing talent I get from him and I’m so grateful to have received that gene.  Of course, he’s not a published author, but I can’t honestly say that there is one author that my style imitates.  I’d been told a lot of my writing is similar to Ellen Hopkins.  I’ve also gotten Colleen Hoover.  But I have to say, as much of a compliment that being compared to these amazing authors is, I like being able to draw from all the books I’ve read and create my own style as well.

 

  1. When should we expect your book on shelves and or start hearing about it?

Oh boy, I’m hoping to have my book finished next summer and start pitching it to publishing houses then.  But this is all still a work in progress of course.

 

  1. How do you intend on promoting your book? Are you going to do a book tour?

I don’t know if I’ll be doing a book tour, but of course, I’d love to!  I’ll also be promoting on my Instagram account and my social media accounts as well: my website, Twitter, Facebook, of course.

 

  1. What do you like to do for fun?

For fun, I love to sing.  I read so much, it’s a bit ridiculous according to my parents and boyfriend.  I also love to cook and write letters!

 

  1. For young aspiring writers what advice would you give them? 

If you’re a young writer, my greatest advice to you is to write every single day.  I know you’ve probably heard that from other authors, but it’s the truth.  Write a poem or an idea for a character.  Write in a journal or write a letter.  Write SOMETHING every single day and you’ll get so

much better at it.  You’ll become a lot more critical of yourself and you’ll realize you really can do anything.

I hope that’s enough for you JaNae!  Let me know if you need anything else.  Thank you so much again for asking me to be a part of this!

So much love, Logan LeDuc

Annette Gonzalez – New York – age 33 – “Femi – The Walking Prophesy”

Screenshot_2015-12-20-23-34-42-1

 

  1. How long have you been working on your book? I started in Feb 2015.

 

  1. Are you going for self-publishing or traditional? Why?

I am looking to send out some letter queries to agents, however if no one picks up my book then I am for sure going to self-publish – I actually really like the idea of self-publishing because it’s all the writer’s work, no one trying to come in and “fix” your creation.  But we will see what happens. 

  

  1. What is the genre and title of your book?

I am currently working on book one of a trilogy.  The Title is “Femi – The Walking Prophesy”   – YA – of course!!!

 

  1. If you do the traditional publishing route, what publishing company would you want to publish your work?

  Scholastic Press or Disney Hyperion – That would be a dream!

 

  1. Did you go to school for writing or was it a calling you had early on in life?

I did not major in writing – no.  However; I always loved writing stories, poems, and songs as a young girl.

 

  1. What inspired you to write the book you’re writing now?

  I always wanted to write a book.  When I was about 9 years old I wrote short stories after being addicted to Nancy Drew books.  I remember vividly having a red, small hard cover book and I filled the pages with stories of mysteries.  How I wish I could read that book right now.  So I was always pretty much inspired to write but my big push is when I started reading again in 2014.  I fell in in love all over again.  It’s like the child in me that was lost came back out to explore.  I loved it.  After reading Hunger Games, Girl on the Train, Red Queen, Divergent, and several others I said to myself, “I can do this.”  And I did.

 

  1. What author inspired your writing style?

I have several authors that I love – Just to name a few – Suzanne Collins, Colleen Hoover, and JK Rowling.  I like all their styles.  I can only hope my words are as vivid as theirs.  But Suzanne really got me with first Person POV with Katniss – love, love, love!

 

  1. When should we expect your book on shelves and or start hearing about it?

Well I hope some people are already hearing about it.  And I expect it to be on shelves 2016.  If all goes as planned , I want to set a goal of fall 2016.  I think that is a great time for new books to hit the shelves.

 

  1. How do you intend on promoting your book? Are you going to do a book tour?

  I would love to do a book tour – if anyone will show up – LOL.  Promoting will be done mostly by social media of course, and hopefully word of mouth.  Honestly I just hope the book is so good that it promotes itself and that after people read about #FEMI they will fall in love with her as much as I loved creating her. 

 

  1. What do you like to do for fun? Read of course and write!!! 

 

  1. For young aspiring writers what advice would you give them? 

First – never be embarrassed for your ideas. 

Second – be ready for criticism even from people you love.  Not to mention yourself.  Sometimes we are our worst enemies.  So be prepared for negativity and be prepared to have thick skin.  Don’t let it get you down – Push forward. 

Third- WRITE – don’t stop!  Try to set a goal to write every day.  Don’t try to fix words, or edit… just keep going, correcting will come later. 

Fourth – Every beginning has an end.  So if you start, end it. 

Fifth – Do your research

Six – Have fun – there is no point of writing if the magic is gone.

 

Thanks!

Here are my answers for your interview and a picture of me  My full name  is Felicia Green, I’m 21 years old, and at the moment I live in my hometown Falun, in Sweden. Thank you so much for letting me participate, I look forward to reading your blog post later! If you find any grammar or spelling mistakes in my answers, please feel free to correct me; even though I speak English fluently, it’s not my first language.

ME

  1.    How long have you been working on your book?

 

Wow. If I was really pretentious I would answer something corny like “for 21 years” (which is my age) but since I’m not (I like to believe) my answer is about 3 months. I first got the idea 2010, and it has been resting since then, until I mixed it with another idea I got when I was travelling around the UK last spring. I started to develop and write it for real in September, so, yes, about 3 months now.

 

  1. Are you going for self-publishing or traditional? Why?

 

I’m going for traditional publishing, not because I don’t believe you can succeed in self-publishing, because I know there are many authors that have. I simply think traditional publishing is the better option for me and my writing. I would like to be able to keep my main focus on the writing part, instead of having to deal with all the other parts of publishing all by myself.

 

  1. What is the genre and title of your book?

 

The genre is a bit of a fusion; it’s a psychological thriller with elements of horror, focusing on human relations, the human (often twisted) mind, and secrets underneath the surface. My working title is Thicker than water (but in Swedish, which is Tjockare än vatten), but I’m not a hundred percent sure yet. The title comes from the saying ‘Blood is thicker than water’. Blood, literally, has quite an important part in my book, and so does family and bloodlines.

 

  1. If you do the traditional publishing route, what publishing company would you want to publish your work?

 

I’m going to send my script in to a lot of different publishing companies in Sweden, both bigger and smaller ones. Might not be an idea name dropping them here, since you probably haven’t heard of them, but here’s a selection: Albert Bonniers, Forum, Nordstedts, Modernista.

 

  1. Did you go to school for writing or was it a calling you had early on in life?

 

I haven’t been in any writing school. I took a course in literary composition in high school, and I’ve been taking other writing related classes as well (such as literary science), but that’s it. I’ve been reading and writing since I was like four, five years old, and I actually sent a manuscript to a publishing company when I was 10, ha ha! They turned me down (no shit, Sherlock), but I got a really nice letter that I still have somewhere. Writing has always been my biggest passion and it has always been what I want to do. There are other things I would enjoy and like to work as, as well, like as a psychologist or teacher for example, but I couldn’t imagine a life without writing. To sometime be able to do that for a living is one of my biggest life goals.

 

  1. What inspired you to write the book you’re writing now?

 

I can’t actually remember where I got the first idea from, since it was almost 6 years ago now, but as I mentioned earlier, the idea was kind of reborn when I was travelling around the UK. I got inspired by the nature and some myths and folklore. The story and its setting has changed quite a lot since I started writing, so perhaps it’s not as clear where my inspiration came from in the beginning anymore, but that was what made me start writing it. I was also inspired by plenty of other books and movies, and the idea of writing a book that has all the elements that I personally crave in a book; excitement, passion, hate, jealousy, love, secrets…

 

  1. What author inspired your writing style?

 

This is a really hard question. Even though I’m inspired by plenty of authors I’m not sure which ones you could actually detect in my writing style. But I’m a huge fan of Gillian Flynn, who’s writing style I think is quite simple (in a good way), aggressive and straight forward, and Joyce Carol Oates who’s very poetic, sometimes suggestive, sometimes a punch in the face, and so unique in every single word. I’m also inspired by some Swedish authors such as Amanda Hellberg who writes horror/crime – she uses small means to make simplicity beautiful – and Camilla Grebe and Åsa Träff – sisters writing together with very vivid descriptions of feelings, characters and settings.

 

  1. When should we expect your book on shelves and or start hearing about it?

 

Wow, I have no idea. I mean, even if I would be so blessed and lucky to get published in Sweden, I have no idea when, or if, I’d be selling good enough to be translated into English and sold in other countries. But hopefully within, what, five, six years? And that’s me being really optimistic.

 

  1. How do you intend on promoting your book? Are you going to do a book tour?

 

To be honest I haven’t really thought much about all this. My focus at the moment is to finish the goddamn book (editing as we speak) and to get a publishing company to like it. But hey, of course I want to go on a book tour!

 

  1. What do you like to do for fun?

 

       Write. Ha! Nah, I do other things too. I read, I watch too many movies, I go out dancing (much more of that when I was living in London though, should definitely move back soon), I cook and eat good food, I spend time with family and friends, I sing, I travel, when I can, I’m being nerdy about Harry Potter and other stuff you can be nerdy about.

 

  1. For young aspiring writers what advice would you give them?

Is it a cliché if I say ‘never give up’? Well, I’m going to say it anyway, because it’s a cliché for a reason. Even when you feel like everything you come up with sucks and that you’ll never ever be able to finish a book or make it as an author or just finish a short story – KEEP CALM, KEEP WRITING AND NEVER GIVE UP. Writing is not just about that amazing inspiration and that magical flow, it’s about finding the strength, patience and discipline to keep writing even when you don’t want to, even when you’re not ‘in the mood’ or when you’re stuck and empty of words. Force yourself to keep writing, because you will be rewarded. Keep writing and the inspiration will come to you. Like Isabel Allende said: Show up show up show up and after a while the muse shows up too.

Also: read. Read a lot, read every day, read all sorts of books, read the authors you love, read the authors you hate, read books you’ve already read a thousand times, read books you’ve never heard of. That’s how you learn how to become a better writer. What to do and what not to do.

What else? Surround yourself with other writers (writing meetups, other friends who write, people on the internet, Instagram, twitter, whatever). Believe in yourself and your dreams. Don’t listen to people telling you to do something more ‘worth-while’. If this is what you love and want to do, it’s more worth-while than anything. Lastly; write what you can write. Don’t try to write something you think other people will like, or something the critics will like, or to please some old, dusty literature panel filled with old, dusty men who wrinkle their old, dusty faces against anything ‘commercial’. Write what you believe in, write what you want to read, write what you love, because the reader will sense this in your text.

Full name: Jillian Dunlay

FullSizeRender

  • How long have you been working on your book?
  • I have been working on my book for just over a year; a year and one month, to be exact.

 

  • Are you going for self-publishing or traditional? Why?
  • I have not yet decided between traditional and self-publishing. There are benefits to each! I absolutely love the idea of traditional publishing, so I’m going to strive for that. However, taking into consideration how competitive the publishing world has become, I’m debating whether I should start out with self-publishing and wait for my career to hopefully evolve from there.

 

  • What is the genre and title of your book?

 

My book is not yet titled! I prefer waiting until I am completely finished before officially giving it a name. The genre is dystopian fiction (if you’re thinking it’s going to be a knock-off Hunger Games though, I assure that is not at all the case).

  • If you do the traditional publishing route, what publishing company would you want to publish your work?
  • There are so many publishing companies I would die to get the opportunity to work with. HarperCollins, of course. Random House is great too. Simon and Schuster would also be a dream come true. And of course, let’s not forget Scholastic… It’s too hard to pick just one!

 

  • Did you go to school for writing or was it a calling you had early on in life? 
  • My passion for writing was definitely something I was born with. I started trying to read before I could even talk. I first began writing short stories around the time I was five years old, and I never stopped. Growing up with such an obsession of literature certainly influenced my career choice. I’ve always known being an author was what I wanted to and do. If you’d like to read more about my journey as an early writer, check out my blog (www.jilliandunlaywriting.wordpress.com).

 

  • What inspired you to write the book your writing now?
  • My inspiration for my book came from my love of the dystopia genre. I’ve adored Veronica Roth’s Divergent and Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games, as well as other books with similar plotlines. The best source of inspiration is to not only read other works, but study them, which is exactly what I did.

 

  • What author inspired your writing style? 
  • John Green had a huge part in developing my writing style. I’ve always admired how the development of his characters is so significant, and his dialogue usages as well as the mannerisms of his protagonists are so distinguished. He’s brilliant at writing from the perspectives of blunt and honest people, which I deeply appreciate. Laura Resau is also a great influence. Her writing is lyrical and poetic, and flows so eloquently. She creates beautiful masterpieces, which has inspired me to do the same.

 

  • When should we expect your book on shelves and or start to hear about it?
  • Crossing my fingers you’ll be hearing of my book within the next year! 2016 is going to be very exciting.

 

  • How do you intend to promote your book? Are you going to do a book tour?
  • I’ve already began promoting my book through social media. Once it is publishing, hopefully I’ll get to do some book signings. Not sure about a book tour yet obviously, but I’m thrilled for whatever’s in store!

 

  • What do you like to do for fun
  • For fun, I enjoy writing poetry, getting together with friends, and spending time with family. Such a cliché answer, but true nonetheless.

 

  • For young aspiring writers what advice would you give them?
  • For young writers everywhere- keep writing! Always have hope, and never give up on your dreams. Happy writing!

Hey girl! Sorry I took so long getting these questions back to you!! My full name is India Hill, I’m 24 years sold and I live in South Carolina. I hope I answered your questions in a good way, and feel free to edit them anyway you like! 🙂

HQ3VgQug (1)

 

  1. How long have you been working on your book?

I’ve been working on my first manuscript since January of last year. It’s still under construction though, but I’ve put it on the back burner for a while. It’s not as polished as I would like, and I want to change some things! 

 

  1. Are you going for self-publishing or traditional? Why? 

I for sure want to publish both of my manuscripts traditionally. I feel like they will reach a larger audience this way, and since both of my manuscripts feature Protagonists of color, I want to be a part of a trend where more authors of color and stories with protagonists of color are published traditionally! I feel that it’s important for minorities to have widespread representation of themselves in books, and I think I can achieve that with traditional publishing. 

 

  1. What is the genre and title of your book?

My first manuscript has a middle grade audience. I don’t want to say the title yet because it’s such a large part of the book, but I will definitely keep you posted! 

 

  1. If you do the traditional publishing route, what publishing company would you want to publish your work?

I’m honestly not sure yet! I would look at who has the best interest in mind for my book and whichever publisher seems just as excited about my book as I do. 

 

  1. Did you go to school for writing or was it a calling you had early on in life?

Both! My degree is in Mass Communications with a Concentration in Print Journalism, so it’s really more focused on article writing. I’ve had a calling to be a writer ever since I was a little girl. I would write hundreds of pages of stories in notebooks when I was in elementary school, and I founded the classroom newspaper for my fourth grade class!

 

  1. What inspired you to write the book you’re writing now?

It’s kind of random, I actually got the idea while working at a boutique. One day when I was folding clothes, the whole story came to my head and I started planning it on my lunch break! 

 

  1. What author inspired your writing style?

This is a good question! I’m sure an author has inspired my style unintentionally, but I can’t pinpoint the exact author. 

 

  1. When should we expect your book on shelves and or start hearing about it?

Hopefully very soon! This is something I’ve been praying about and working hard for for a while, and I would love prayers and support from anyone else!  I’ll speak it into existence and say within the next two years. 

 

  1. How do you intend on promoting your book? Are you going to do a book tour?

I would love to do a book tour! The idea of that is so fun and exciting to me. I would also love to do a blog tour, and something on my Book Tube channel! 

 

  1. What do you like to do for fun?

When I’m not reading, writing, or editing videos (which I do for fun, but I need to step aside of the box!) I love talking for hours on the phone with my friends or binge watching Netflix or YouTube videos. I know, I definitely need some outdoor activities! 

 

  1. For young aspiring writers what advice would you give them?

One thing I would say is there is no such thing as an Aspiring Writer! If you are writing, you are a writer, and that’s it! Keep at it, and try to read and write EVERYDAY. I know this is hard and easier said than done, but even if it’s writing for 20 minutes, or reading a chapter a day. Put yourself out there, whether it’s starting a book, a vlog channel, or an Instagram focused on books. And have fun! When it gets hard, remember why you’re doing it 🙂 

That was the interviews! I hope you enjoyed it; I loved reading it as well as doing it. I hope you found at least one of these amazing upcoming authors fascinating. I personally can’t wait for their work to hit the shelves and start being talked about in the book community. And remember ❤ Always Love Your Books ❤

http://loganashleyleduc.com/ LoganAshley website

https://www.instagram.com/anettyswritings/ Annette instagram

https://www.instagram.com/writeandreadwithfelicia/ Felicias instagram

https://jilliandunlaywriting.wordpress.com/ Jillians blog

http://indiahillwrites.com/2015/12/goal-setting-lara-caseys-2016-powersheets-workbook/ Indias blog

One thought on “Interview : Top Five Most Anticipated Authors

Leave a Reply

